Cabernet Franc

What would the world be without Cabernet Franc? The red wine from France would probably be missing everywhere, because it is one of the most popular grape varieties in the world. The Cabernet Franc owes its widespread use primarily to its robustness and adaptability as well as its excellent suitability as a blending partner for high-quality cuvées.
However, the vine is also produced as a single-variety wine of high quality, such as our “Cabernet Franc Reserve, Ried Kaiserberg 2019” – dry – NEUKAMP & STADLER Selection – Halbturn.

Cabernet Franc: Everything about the little brother of Cabernet Sauvignon

Actually, the name of the Cabernet Franc should not be the “little brother” of the Cabernet Sauvignon, but father or mother, since the well-known red wine variety Cabernet Sauvignon probably originated in France from a cross between the parents Cabernet Franc and Sauvignon Blanc. In any case, its tannin content is, as befits a “little brother”, lower than that of Cabernet Sauvignon.
In addition to Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc is one of the finest red wine varieties in the wine-growing region of Bordeaux (France), in which the Merlot, Petit Verdot, Malbec and Carménère varieties are also grown. In addition to Cabernet Franc, the red grape variety has many names such as Bouchet, Bouchet Franc, Gros Bouschet or Gros Cabernet.
Cabernet Franc is often only known as a blending partner for cuvée wines: in the Bordeaux/Bordeaux wine-growing region, but also in other wine regions, the Cabernet Franc is often blended into a red cuvée, whereby depending on the variety and region – Spain (here mainly in the Basque Country) , the Loire Valley, the Gironde, France in general, Austria – the proportions of the different red wines can differ somewhat.

Cabernet Franc: the grape variety

Cabernet Franc was created from a wild vine - it is frugal, but likes it warm. The vine is robust and can withstand bad weather, which is why the Cabernet Franc also thrives in cooler regions. Its vines are conical and regular. The grapes or berries have a softer, but still more robust skin than the Cabernet Sauvignon and they also ripen earlier.

Bildschirmfoto 2022-02-23 um 09.49.01

Origin and Provenance of Cabernet Franc

Cabernet Franc, the special grape variety of emperors and kings in France and Spain, has been cultivated for centuries. The exact provenance, the origin or the ancestry can hardly be traced today - so there is the theory that the vine, which is said to be descended from wild vines, could come from the Basque Country and appeared in France after the last ice age. Cabernet Franc is the oldest of all Bordeaux varieties, it is a parent of Cabernet Sauvignon, also a very popular red wine. There is also a relationship to Merlot and Malbec.

Cabernet Franc

Demands of the Cabernet Franc on climate and soil

Cabernet Franc is not a savage. It is uncomplicated and feels at home on a wide variety of terroirs, even on barren soil and in different regions - the climate must not be too cold. He feels particularly comfortable in good locations, such as the one in the Burgenland region on Lake Neusiedl. Here in Austria, in the Neusiedlersee DAC wine-growing region, the climate is particularly well suited to red wines: long, warm summers with little precipitation and frost-free winters. The Neusiedlersee brings salty air and creates a fine microclimate.

Rotweinkeller_klein

Cultivation areas of the French vine Cabernet Franc

The Cabernet Franc vine is grown almost all over the world: in France, Spain (Basque Country), Austria, Italy, Eastern Europe, but also in the USA (e.g. California), Chile, Argentina, New Zealand, Kazakhstan, Russia, China or South Africa… The largest quantity is grown in France, in Bordeaux, Bordeaux or even in the Val de Loire.

Cabernet Francs in Europe

In Austria, small amounts of the grape variety can be found in Lower Austria and Burgenland, almost 90 hectares (0.2%) of Austrian wine-growing areas are planted with Cabernet Franc grapes.
Apart from Austria, the Cabernet Franc is also cultivated in many other European countries. In France, it is one of the six grape varieties permitted for Bordeaux wines. In Italy it is often blended with other wines, where it is pronounced “Cabernet Frank”. In Hungary, the Cabernet Franc is also produced as a varietal, it is also produced in Eastern Europe and in smaller quantities in wineries in Germany and Switzerland.

Cabernet Franc overseas

Cabernet Franc is at home almost all over the world: we find it in Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Uruguay, New Zealand and Australia, but also in Canada, the USA, Kazakhstan, China, Russia and South Africa. Almost nowhere is it cultivated as a single variety, most likely in France and, as mentioned, in Hungary.

Cabernet Franc: the wine

Colour, taste & aromas of Cabernet Franc

The beauty of Cabernet Franc, besides its great red color, is the fact that its tannin content is lower, so it can be drunk earlier and is not as astringent as other red wines. It is a universal food companion and can taste fruity from greenish tones (paprika), if the grapes were not harvested quite ripe, to raspberry tones, currants and violets. It is not too powerful, sometimes mineral and fruity, fine and pleasantly drinkable.

The taste, the colour, and the tannin content is determined by the terroir (e.g. limestone soil), the climate and the region, but above all the use of the wood (e.g. barrique) has an effect:
Depending on the drinking maturity of the wine, a wide variety of aromas can be perceived: green peppers, violets, currants, raspberries, strawberries, but also vanilla, tobacco and chocolate can be tasted. Depending on the growing area, the scent or the scent notes can change. The results of wine tastings show how different wines from France taste compared to wines from Austria: sometimes very fruity, then again like paprika or vanilla – depending on how the winery works.

Cabernet Franc and other wines - high quality cuvées

Cuvées are blends of grandiose wines or several grape varieties (blending partner) – just like the joint work of NEUKAMP & STADLER, unique and full-bodied.
For red cuvées, wines or varieties such as Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Carménère, Malbec are usually used. Our wines are matured in barriques made from lightly toasted wood. Grab your largest and thinnest wine glass, swirl this gorgeous cuvée to admire the beautiful streaks, hold the glass up to the light to see the rich color and then it’s time for your nose to take in the bouquet of this cuvée enjoy.

Which dishes does the Cabernet Franc go well with?

Cabernet Franc is a versatile red wine compared to other wines. It is an uncomplicated companion, not too wild, which goes well with meat such as steak (also seasoned with pepper), but also with roast chicken or grilled vegetables. The all-rounder among red wines also goes well with dark meats such as game, grilled meat, stews (ideally prepare the sauce with the same Cabernet Franc) and spicy cheeses.
A good bottle of Cabernet Franc should not be missing from any domestic wine rack, so ordering from us is definitely a great idea.
If you have any questions about our products, you are welcome to contact us by e-mail (in our case with SSL encryption) or telephone, we do not currently offer a newsletter.
The prices that our wines have received can be found directly on our home page.

The Nestor Cabernet Franc from Austria

With a size of 7,800 hectares, the areas in the Neusiedlersee DAC wine-growing region are small in international comparison, but they are special: hot, dry summers and moderate winters with little snow. No region in Austria has more sunny days, which gives the grapes an unmistakable power and depth of fruit and thus produces great red wines.
At NEUKAMP & STADLER, we focus on reducing the quantity in the vineyard and planting the lanes with greenery all year round (certified by Nachhaltig Austria). This is followed by a long maceration period with spontaneous fermentation and vinification in different wood qualities. After 18 months at the earliest, the bottle is filled.

You can find more about our wines here:

What others are saying about our Cabernet Franc

We do our best to inspire wine lovers, wine experts and wine lovers again and again...

4.5/5
"93 points Cabernet Franc Reserve Ried Kaiserberg 2019 - 1st place in the variety variety category 2019 - 14% alc. Dark ruby garnet, violet reflections, delicate ocher rim lightening. Fresh heart cherries, dark wild berries, underlaid with tobacco and chocolate, an inviting bouquet. Juicy, elegant, fine fruit sweetness, round fir trees, fine acidity, mineral-salty, already very easy to drink."
Falstaff Red Wine Guide 2022
4.5/5
"Fruity as only! this Cabernet Franc. Cool scent of blueberry sorbet, with some tea tannins and herbal spices, but also eucalyptus tones. This wine apparently "swallowed" the wood of the 18-month maturation when it was young - resulting in an incredibly juicy "Cab". And a great advertisement for this rare grape variety! Because there is only one expression for a fragrance like this: "It's the kind of thing"!"
Roland Graf
www.trinkprotokoll.at
4/5
"92 points Ried Lehendorf Chardonnay Trockenbeerenauslese 2018 - 9% alc. Firm and quite deep nose, some smoky oak, nutty and herbaceous notes, partly dried and candied citrus fruit, pomaceous fruit and a hint of peaches, a little candy, yellow spiciness and Firmly woven, very sweet, candied and dried fruit with nutty and smoky notes of wood, caramel, candy and ethereal spice, elegant acidity, handle of mellow tannins, persistent, concentrated and deep, yellow-spicy nuances, some honey and beeswax , salty background, very good, firm finish."
Wine guide Wein.plus
"92 Points Cabernet Franc Reserve Ried Kaiserberg 2019: Perfumed juicy black berry and blueberry fruit, fragrant dried herbs, with silky tannins and refreshing acidity""
IWC INTERNATIONAL WINE CHALLENGE 2022

We are happy to advise you personally

We will help you to choose the right wines for your very personal wine experience.

Give us a call!

Scroll to Top

Cabernet Franc

Was wäre die Welt ohne Cabernet Franc? Der Rotwein aus Frankreich würde wohl überall fehlen, denn er zählt zu den beliebtesten Rebsorten weltweit. Die starke Verbreitung verdankt der Cabernet Franc in erster Linie seiner Robustheit und Anpassungsfähigkeit sowie seiner hervorragenden Eignung als Verschnittpartner für hochwertige Cuvées.
Die Rebe wird aber auch als sortenreiner Wein in hoher Qualität ausgebaut, wie etwa unser “Cabernet Franc Reserve, Ried Kaiserberg 2019” – trocken – NEUKAMP & STADLER Selection – Halbturn.

Cabernet Franc: Alles über den kleinen Bruder des Cabernet Sauvignon

Eigentlich müsste die Bezeichnung für den Cabernet Franc nicht „kleiner Bruder“ des Cabernet Sauvignon sein, sondern Vater oder Mutter, da die bekannte Rotweinsorte Cabernet Sauvignon vermutlich in Frankreich, aus einer Kreuzung der Elternteile Cabernet Franc und Sauvignon Blanc entstand. Sein Tanningehalt ist jedenfalls, wie es sich für einen „kleinen Bruder“ gehört, geringer als jener des Cabernet Sauvignon.
Neben Cabernet Sauvignon ist Cabernet Franc eine der edelsten Rotweinsorten der Weinbau-Region Bordeaux (Frankreich), in welcher auch die Sorten Merlot, Petit Verdot, Malbec und Carménère angebaut werden. Die rote Rebsorte hat neben Cabernet Franc viele Namen wie etwa Bouchet, Bouchet Franc, Gros Bouschet oder Gros Cabernet.
Cabernet Franc ist oftmals nur als Verschnittpartner für Cuvée-Weine bekannt: Im Weinbaugebiet Bordelais/Bordeaux, aber auch in anderen Weinregionen, wird der Cabernet Franc gerne zu roter Cuvée verschnitten, wobei sich je nach Sorten und Region – Spanien (hier vorwiegend im Baskenland), das Loire-Tal, die Gironde, Frankreich generell, Österreich – die Anteile der verschiedenen Rotweine etwas unterscheiden können.

Cabernet Franc: die Rebsorte

Cabernet Franc ist aus einer Wildrebe entstanden – er ist genügsam, mag es aber gerne warm. Der Weinstock ist robust und hält auch schlechteres Wetter gut aus, darum gedeiht der Cabernet Franc auch in kühleren Regionen. Seine Reben sind konusförmig und regelmäßig. Die Trauben, bzw. die Beeren haben eine zartere, aber dennoch robustere Haut als der Cabernet Sauvignon und sie werden auch früher reif.

Bildschirmfoto 2022-02-23 um 09.49.01

Ursprung und Herkunft des Cabernet Franc

Der Cabernet Franc, die besondere Rebsorte der Kaiser und Könige in Frankreich und Spanien, wird schon seit Jahrhunderten kultiviert. Die exakte Herkunft, der Ursprung bzw. die Abstammung kann heute jedoch kaum mehr nachvollzogen werden – so gibt es die Theorie, dass die Rebe, die von Wildreben abstammen soll, aus dem Baskenland kommen könnte und nach der letzten Eiszeit in Frankreich aufgetaucht sei. Cabernet Franc ist die älteste aller Bordeaux-Sorten, er ist ein Elternteil des Cabernet Sauvignon, einem ebenfalls sehr beliebten Rotwein. Außerdem gibt es eine Verwandtschaft zu Merlot und Malbec.

Cabernet Franc

Ansprüche des Cabernet Franc an Klima und Boden

Cabernet Franc ist kein Wilder. Er ist unkompliziert und fühlt sich auf unterschiedlichstem Terroir, auch auf kargen Böden und in unterschiedlichen Regionen wohl – das Klima darf nur nicht zu kalt sein. Besonders wohl fühlt er sich in guten Lagen, wie jener in der burgenländischen Region am Neusiedlersee. Bei uns in Österreich, im Weinbaugebiet Neusiedlersee DAC ist das Klima für Rotweine besonders gut geeignet: Lange, warme Sommer mit wenig Niederschlag und frostarme Winter. Der Neusiedlersee bringt salzige Luft und erzeugt ein feines Mikroklima.

Rotweinkeller_klein

Anbaugebiete der französischen Rebe Cabernet Franc

Die Rebe Cabernet Franc wird fast auf der ganzen Welt angebaut: in Frankreich, Spanien (Baskenland), Österreich, Italien, Osteuropa, aber auch in den USA (z. B. Kalifornien), Chile, Argentinien, Neuseeland, Kasachstan, Russland, China oder Südafrika… Die größte Menge wird in Frankreich, im Bordelaise, Bordeaux oder auch im Val de Loire angebaut.

Cabernet Franc in Europa

In Österreich findet man geringe Mengen der Rebsorte in Niederösterreich und im Burgenland, knapp 90 ha (0,2 %) der österreichischen Weinbauflächen sind mit Cabernet-Franc-Trauben bepflanzt.
Außer in Österreich wird der Cabernet Franc auch in vielen anderen europäischen Ländern angebaut. In Frankreich ist er einer der sechs für Bordeaux-Weine zugelassenen Rebsorten. In Italien wird er gerne mit anderen Weinen verschnitten, dort wird er „Cabernet Frank“ ausgesprochen. In Ungarn wird der Cabernet Franc auch reinsortig ausgebaut, weiters wird er in Osteuropa sowie in kleineren Mengen in Weingütern in Deutschland und der Schweiz produziert.

Cabernet Franc in Übersee

Cabernet Franc ist fast auf der ganzen Welt daheim: Wir finden ihn in Brasilien, Argentinien, Chile, Uruguay, Neuseeland und Australien, aber auch in Kanada, den USA, Kasachstan, China, Russland und Südafrika. Sortenrein wird er fast nirgends ausgebaut, am ehesten in Frankreich und wie erwähnt in Ungarn.

Cabernet Franc: der Wein

Farbe, Geschmack & Aromen des Cabernet Franc

Das Schöne am Cabernet Franc ist neben seiner tollen, roten Farbe die Tatsache, dass sein Tanningehalt geringer ist, daher ist er früher trinkbar und nicht so adstringierend wie andere rote Weine. Er ist ein universeller Speisebegleiter und kann von grünlichen Tönen (Paprika), wenn die Trauben nicht ganz reif geerntet wurden, bis hin zu Himbeertönen, Johannisbeeren und Veilchen schön fruchtig schmecken. Er ist nicht zu wuchtig, manchmal mineralisch und fruchtig, fein und angenehm trinkbar.

Der Geschmack, die Farbe, auch der Tanningehalt wird vom Terroir (z. B. Kalkböden), dem Klima und der Region bestimmt, aber vor allem wirkt sich der Einsatz des Holzes (z. B. Barrique) aus:
Je nach Trinkreife der Weine können die unterschiedlichsten Aromen wahrgenommen werden: grüner Paprika, Veilchen, Johannisbeeren, Himbeeren, Erdbeeren, aber auch Vanille, Tabak und Schokolade können herausgeschmeckt werden. Je nach Anbaugebiet kann sich der Duft, bzw. können die Duft-Noten sich ändern. Die Ergebnisse bei Weinverkostungen zeigen, wie unterschiedlich Weine aus Frankreich im Vergleich zu Weinen aus Österreich schmecken: mal sehr fruchtig, dann wieder nach Paprika oder Vanille – je nachdem, wie im Weingut gearbeitet wird.

 

Cabernet Franc und andere Weine - hochwertige Cuvées

Cuvées sind Verschnitte grandioser Weine, bzw. mehrerer Rebsorten (Verschnittpartner) – so wie die gemeinsame Arbeit von NEUKAMP & STADLER, einzigartig und gehaltvoll.
Für rote Cuvées werden meist Weine, bzw. Sorten wie etwa Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Carménère, Malbec verwendet. Unsere Weine werden im Barrique aus leicht getoastetem Holz ausgebaut. Nehmen Sie Ihr größtes und möglichst dünnwandigstes Weinglas, schwenken Sie diese herrliche Cuvée, um die wunderschönen Schlieren zu bewundern, halten Sie das Glas gegen das Licht, um die prächtige Farbe zu sehen und dann ist es für Ihre Nase Zeit, das Bouquet dieser Cuvée zu genießen.

Zu welchen Gerichten passt der Cabernet Franc?

Cabernet Franc ist im Vergleich zu anderen Weinen ein vielseitiger Rotwein. Er ist ein unkomplizierter Begleiter, nicht zu wild, der zu Fleisch wie Steak (gerne auch mit Pfeffer gewürzt) passt, aber auch zu Brathuhn oder gegrilltem Gemüse. Vorzüglich passt der Allrounder unter den Rotweinen auch zu dunklen Fleischsorten wie etwa Wild, gerilltem Fleisch, Schmorgerichten (die Sauce bereiten Sie im Idealfall mit demselben Cabernet Franc zu) und würzigen Käsesorten.
Eine gute Flasche Cabernet Franc sollte in keinem heimischen Weinregal fehlen, eine Bestellung bei uns ist also bestimmt eine hervorragende Idee.
Bei Fragen zu unseren Produkten können Sie sich gerne per E-Mail (bei uns mit SSL-Verschlüsselung) oder Telefon an uns wenden, einen Newsletter bieten wir derzeit nicht an.
Die Preise, die unsere Weine erlangt haben, finden Sie direkt auf unserer Startseite.

Der Nestor Cabernet Franc aus Österreich

Die Flächen im Weinbaugebiet Neusiedlersee DAC sind mit einer Größe von 7.800 ha im internationalen Vergleich klein, aber besonders: heiße, trockene Sommer und gemäßigte, schneearme Winter. Keine Region Österreichs weist mehr Sonnentage auf, was den Trauben eine unverwechselbare Kraft und Fruchttiefe gibt und somit großartige Rotweine hervorbringt.
Bei NEUKAMP & STADLER setzen wir auf Mengenreduktion im Weingarten und ganzjährige Begrünung der Fahrgassen (zertifiziert von NACHHALTIG AUSTRIA). Es folgt eine lange Maische-Standzeit mit Spontangärung und die Vinifizierung in unterschiedlichen Holzqualitäten. Nach frühestens 18 Monaten erfolgt die Füllung in die Flasche.

Mehr über unsere Weine finden Sie hier:

Was andere über unseren Cabernet Franc sagen

Wir geben unser Bestes um Weinfreund*innen, Weinexpert*innen und Wein*liebhaberin immer wieder aufs Neue zu begeistern...

4.5/5
"93 Punkte Cabernet Franc Reserve Ried Kaiserberg 2019 - 1. Platz Kategorie Sortenvielfalt 2019 - 14% Alk. Dunkles Rubingranat, violette Reflexe, zarte Ockerrandaufhellung. Frische Herzkirschen, dunkle Waldbeeren, tabakzig-schokoladig unterlegt, einladendes Bukett. Saftig, elegant, feine Fruchtsüße, runde Tannen, feiner Säurebogen, mineralisch-salzig, bereits sehr gut antrinkbar."
Falstaff Rotweinguide 2022
4.5/5
"Fruchtig wie nur! dieser Cabernet Franc. Kühl nach Heidelbeer-Sorbet im Duft, dazu gesellt sich etwas Tee-Gerbstoff und auch Kräuterwürze, aber auch Eukalyptus-Töne. Das Holz der immerhin 18-monatigen Reifung hat dieser Wein schon in der Jugend offenbar „geschluckt“ – somit ergibt sich ein unglaublich saftiger „Cab“. Und eine großartige Werbung für diese seltene Rebsorte! Denn für ein Duftbild wie dieses gibt es nur einen Ausdruck: „Voll die Sorte“!"
Roland Graf
www.trinkprotokoll.at
4/5
"92 Punkte Ried Lehendorf Chardonnay Trockenbeerenauslese 2018 - 9% Alk. Fester und recht tiefer, etwas rauchig-holziger, nussiger und auch pflanzlicher bis kräuteriger Duft nach teils getrockneten und kandierten Zitrusfrüchten, Kernobst und einem Hauch Pfirsich, ein wenig Kandis, gelber Würze und floralen Nuancen. Fest gewirkte, sehr süße, kandiert und getrocknet wirkende Frucht mit nussigen und rauchigen Holznoten, Karamell, Kandis und ätherischer Würze, feine Säure, Griff von mürbem Gerbstoff, nachhaltig, konzentriert und tief, gelb-gewürzige Nuancen, etwas Honig und Bienenwachs, im Hintergrund Salz, sehr guter, fester Abgang. "
Weinführer Wein.plus

Gerne beraten wir Sie auch persönlich

Wir helfen Ihnen bei der Auswahl der passenden Weine für Ihr ganz persönliches Weinerlebnis.

Rufen Sie uns an!

Scroll to Top